top of page
  • le_petit_ventre

Traditional Pancake - Cheng San Market & Cooked Food Centre #01-131

Peanut MJK, Coconut MJK, Red Bean MJK and Sesame MJK from Traditional Pancake at Cheng San Market & Cooked Food Centre.

The hunt for MJK found me this spot, who actually has an Instagram account @dadnmum_pancake. They do have a few unique flavours available, as well as a crispy peanut one, but I stuck to the usual suspects. In general, their MJK had very thin exteriors but reasonably chewy, and still thick enough to hold its fillings. P.S. I did not see the peanut butter one on display, will ask for it next time since it is on their menu.


Peanut: 7/10. The peanut filling was decent, with some chunky bits giving a nice crunchy texture. It was also not too sweet, but I would have preferred if the peanuts had a stronger roasted taste to bring out an additional depth of flavour


Coconut: 6/10. The coconut filling was a bit too wet, that made the exterior soggy by the time I ate it. Perhaps that is also the reason why I did not get a rich coconut taste as well, it was relatively muted albeit having a reasonable amount of filling


Red Bean: 5/10. Hardly any filling in the one I got, I felt like I ate more dough instead. The paste had bits of red bean that gave a nice contrast in textures. Taste wise it was too artificially sweet, I would have preferred the natural earthiness of the red beans


Sesame: 5.5/10. This had slightly more filling than the red bean, but the ratio was also quite off. The paste was a little grainy but alright for black sesame, but the taste was also quite muted considering that it was supposed to be quite a strong flavour


The prices and opening hours may vary.

bottom of page