top of page
  • le_petit_ventre

Rahmath Cheese Prata - 74 Lor 4 Toa Payoh #01-08

Plain Prata ($1) and Egg Prata ($1.50) from Rahmath Cheese Prata.

Searching for prata spots and Rahmath Cheese Prata would usually be found in any lists you read. This hidden spot in Toa Payoh actually has a Makansutra 5-Chopsticks award, on top of the various others it received. Seeing how it was consistently mentioned yet without notes of long waiting times that comes with fame, I was definitely interested to try their pratas. Though cheese prata is in their name, I stuck to egg and plain for comparison sake.


Plain: 7/10. Its slightly crispy exterior complemented its still malleable interior, giving an overall texture that was pretty decent. A little dense for my liking, it could use a little more fluffiness to be lighter. It had a good amount of grease that was not overbearing, and provided a nice flavour.


Egg: 8/10. The soft fluffy interior made it easy to plough through, as this came apart with minimal strength required. The dough was also quite even throughout, with the egg well distributed to keep empty pockets very minimal. A healthy brown char rounded off the prata with a good texture and overall taste.


Curry: 8/10. When I collected my plate from the owner and got a huge whiff of the aroma through my mask, I knew I was in for a treat. The fish curry had a good thick consistency, that was still runny enough to dip like gravy. It was also well balanced taste wise, and a gentle level of heat that nicely spiced up my morning. I liked that it was also kept warm in a pot, so my serving paired well with the freshly made pratas


Overall: 7.7/10. This humble spot deserves more recognition for the quality of food it is serving, though I most certainly do not want to be queuing the next time I visit. They definitely do pratas right, and at such a reasonable price point too. I am already looking forward to my next visit and trying their cheese prata, assumedly good given that it is part of their name.


The prices and opening hours may vary.

bottom of page