top of page
  • le_petit_ventre

Seng Huat Coffee House (成發咖啡屋) - 811 Hougang Central

Kaya Butter Toast Set ($4.50) from Seng Huat Coffee House.


I thought they were unique but they turned out to be already a popular coffee house known for their Minced Pork Noodles, with their original shop located at Bugis. They got famous on social media for serving piglet buns, which were pork chop buns shaped in pig faces. My focus was on said dish, and their UFO buns caught my attention instead.


Toast: 5/10. As mentioned, the UFO buns on the menu attracted me to their shop initially, but what was served was a shadow of the advertised (refer to signboard photo). Its outer surface was mildly toasted to at least be served warm, but the inside looked pale and deprived of any grilling. Although they were quite soft, they lacked even the mildest crisp, which also resulted in plain tasting white bread without any charred bitterness


Kaya & Butter: 5/10. The Hainanese coconut kaya was relatively light on taste, and was overpowered by the slab of salted butter. Also haphazardly slathered on, each bite was either too heavy in butter or very mild tasting because of the lack thereof. The kaya was not a very generous serving with some empty pockets, and its balance with the butter was off because of their ratio


Overall: 5/10. I had hoped that this spot would be a hidden gem for me to satisfy my kaya toast cravings, but its standards were way short of my expectations. The components had potential to be decent, perhaps it was too early in the morning or their staff was having a bad day. A little disappointing, but I guess people usually buy noodles from them, as I always see snaking queues from that stall around mealtimes.


The prices and opening hours may vary.

bottom of page